Facebook hit by clickjacking attack over the weekend, as users are slow to take up on the revised privacy settings

News by Dan Raywood

Multiple reports were made over the weekend of a new Facebook exploit that made it appear as though a user 'liked' a page which they didn't actually like.

Multiple reports were made over the weekend of a new Facebook exploit that made it appear as though a user ‘liked' a page that they did not actually like.

Softpedia warned of a clickjacking worm that forced hundreds of thousands of unsuspecting Facebook users to unknowingly post spam messages on their profiles, using news headlines to lure its victims into the trap.

It warned that clicking on the messages takes users to external pages hosted at blogspot.com, which only display a text that reads ‘click here to continue'. However, clicking anywhere on the page abuses a user's active Facebook session to publish a spam message back to their profile.

Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos, said that the trick lures visiting users into ‘liking' a page without necessarily realising they are recommending it to all of their Facebook friends.

He said: “Unfortunately, as we're all too aware, messages such as ‘lol this girl gets owned after a police officer reads her status message' are exactly the kind of content that people will click on on Facebook.

“If you believe you may have been hit by this attack, view the recent activity on your news feed and delete entries related to the above links. Furthermore, you should view your profile, click on your Info tab and remove any of the pages from your ‘likes and interests' section.”

Sophos detected the offending web pages as being infected by Troj/Iframe-ET.

Meanwhile, Roger Thompson, chief research officer at AVG, warned that rogue adware installer apps were active and catching victims by taking them to a page where it asks to download software to view a video. It was not managing to get far as Facebook shut down the first wave quite quickly, but as of about 3pm EST on Saturday, it had started up again.

He said: “Bottom line is still that if you ever have to install something to watch a video, don't. Just don't, ok? Oh, and if ever you're asked to login to Facebook (or anywhere else for that matter), please pay attention to the address bar in the browser, and make sure you're at the right place.”

Following Facebook's update to simplified privacy settings last week, a poll by F-Secure found that under half of respondents had changed their privacy settings. Of 56 votes counted in an online poll, 43 per cent said that they had made the changes, while 25 per cent (14) said that they had not and 32 per cent (18) said that they had not, but were planning to.

Topics:

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Upcoming Events