The inaugural Australian SC Magazine awards have been announced.

Held at the AusCERT 2009 Conference on Australia's Gold Coast, the evening was hosted by comedienne Corinne Grant and a total of six awards were presented.


The results are as follows:


Vendor of the Year

Winner - Fortinet

Highly Commended - Sophos

Finalist - Websense


Security Product of the Year

Winner - MessageLabs Email Services

Highly Commended - Websense Web Security Gateway

Finalists - Qualysguard; MailMarshal Exchange; Symantec Endpoint Protection


Innovation Award

Winner - Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls

Highly Commended- ATO Vulnerability Management and Research team

Finalist - McAfee Artemis Technology


AusCERT Director's Award for Individual Excellence in Information Security

Winner - Paul Ducklin, Sophos Pty

Finalists: - Boaz Fischer, CommsNet Group; Shaun Vlassis, Shadowserver/Honeynet Project; Ben Reardon, National Australia Bank; Brian Hay, fraud and corporate crime group, state crime, operations command, Queensland Police Service; Bruce van der Graaf, fraud squad, NSW Police Service


AusCERT's Annual Award for Organisational Excellence in Information Security

Winner - NAB-CERT (National Australia Bank CERT Australia)

Finalists - DMZGlobal (TelstraClear), New Zealand; Stratsec, Australia; E-Security and DNCR team, ACMA


AusCERT's Award for Law Enforcement

Winner - Computer Crime Investigation Unit, fraud and corporate crime group, state crime operations command, Queensland Police Service

Finalists - Computer Crime Investigation Unit, commercial crime agency, fraud squad, NSW Police Service