Austria first non-NATO nation to join CDCE

News by Ava Fedorov

This week Austria became the first non-NATO nation to join the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence with an agreement signed at the NATO Allied Command Transformation (Norfolk, USA).

In an e-mail to, Colonel Artur Suzik, Director of the Centre called this agreement “an important milestone for us and for the way we look at cyber defence. Austria now stands as an equal among the nations already participating in the work of the Centre.”
This is just the beginning of a long line of additions to the centre expected this year.The Czech Republic, France, Greece, Turkey and the United Kingdom are all due to conclude their joining process over the next few weeks, and discussions with Finland are already underway.

Located in Estonia, the aim of the research and training centre is the enhancement of cyber defence through education, research and development, lessons learned and consultation.

The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence was formally established by Estonia, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Spain and Slovakia six years ago today. The Tallinn-based Centre has since then grown with Poland, US and the Netherlands as full members and Austria as a Contributing Participant whose flag joins the others as a full member on 3 June.

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Video and interviews