Cyber-security executive changes

News by Staff Report

A breakdown of the members of the cyber-security industry who have been assigned new roles and will be starting new roles in the near future.

March 8, 2018

Endgame reported that Shelley Leibowitz is joining the Endgame Board of Directors. Leibowitz Endgame Advisory Board since 2013. In addition, she also serves on the at E*Trade Financial, where she sits on the Risk Oversight and Governance Committees and she serves on the Board of Directors of AllianceBernstein Holding LP, where she sits on the Audit Committee.

February 27, 2018

Sumo Logic has named Barracuda CEO, BJ Jenkins,to the company's board of directors as its first independent member.

January 30, 2018

Flashpoint announced that Peter George has been appointed to the company's Board of Directors. George has previously held leadership roles at Fidelis Cybersecurity, Crossbeam Systems, Nortel Networks, and Bay Networks.

January 23, 2018

The FIDO Alliance announced that Sean Estrada, Amazon's head of industry security engagement, will join the Alliance's board of directors effective immediately. 

January 17, 2018

(ISC)² announced its newly elected board of director's officers: Chairperson: Dr. Kevin Charest, Vice Chairperson: Jennifer Minella, Treasurer: Greg Thompson and Secretary: Wim Remes. The four join the 13-member board which provides governance and oversight for the organisation, grants certifications to qualifying candidates, and enforces adherence to the (ISC)² Code of Ethics.

Charest is the chief information security officer for Health Care Service Corporationm, Minella serves as vice president of engineering and consulting CISO with Carolina Advanced Digital, Thompson is vice president of global operational risk for Scotiabank and Remes is the founder of and principal consultant at NRJ Security.

January 9, 2018

James Turgal, former executive assistant director for the Federal Bureau of Investigation Information and Technology Branch, has joined Deloitte Risk and Financial Advisory's Cyber Risk Services practice as managing director, Deloitte & Touche LLP. Turgal will primarily focus on advising clients on cyber-incident response, cyber-war-gaming and cyber-resilience. 

December 19, 2017

Exabeam announced that Tim Matthews has joined the company as its chief marketing officer. Previously Matthews was Imperva's marketing and global brand strategy, and previously led marketing efforts at PGP Corporation, Symantec and RSA Security.

DECEMBER 14, 2017

Cindy Provin appointed Chief Executive Officer, Thales eSecurity has named Cindy Proven CEO effective 1 January, 2018. Previously, Provin held the positions of president and chief strategy and marketing officer for the company. She will be based in San Jose, California joining the 150 employees at its US headquarters. 

Pwnie Express named Todd DeSisto as the company's new CEO. DeSisto has been a member of the company's board of directors since 2016 and previously held the position of president & CEO of Axeda Corp. 

November 29, 2017

Jim Skidmore was named Chief Revenue Officer/Head of Sales at AppGuard. His duties will include managing and expanding the company's sales team with a primary focus on the end-point management market. Prior to this move, Skidmore was vice president of sales, marketing and business development for Blue Bay Technologies.

Bricata reported two new additions with Phil Salopek joining as CFO and Orville Pike coming on board as vice president of engineering. Salopek, most recently, was co-founder and chairman of Illumineto, while Pike moves over from Koolspan where he held the same position.

November 28, 2017

Shelley Westman was named a Principle/Partner in EY's advisory practice with a focus on cyber-security.  Shelley is the demand leader for the Southeast region and will be working with clients across the region in all areas of cyber-security. Previously, Westman was senior vice president for alliances & security services at Protegrity. Westman is an advocate for boosting the number of women in the cyber-security sector by founding“WISE” – Women in Security Excelling, a group devoted to advancing women in security.

October 3, 2017

Brendan O'Connor has been named ServiceNow's first Security CTO effective immediately. Previously O'Connor spent 10 years at Salesforce where he led Salesforce's global information security organisation as CSO.

September 19, 2017

Mark Weatherford was named to Indegy's Advisory board. Weatherford currently serves as senior vice president and chief cyber-security strategist vArmour. Previously, Weatherford served as deputy under secretary for cyber-security at the Department of Homeland.

     September 14, 2017

AppGuard announced Jon Loew will take over as the company's CEO and chief marketing officer effective 14 September, as well as, being appointed to the company's board of directors. Loew previously served as CEO for KeepTree, which was just acquired by AppGuard.

The US Department of Commerce and the European Commission have selected Peter Guffin, the head of Pierce Atwood's Privacy & Data Security practice, to serve as one of 16 arbitrators in the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield arbitration program. As an arbitrator, Guffin, who currently guides clients through compliance with state, federal and international privacy and data protection laws and regulations, is charged with resolving privacy disputes between EU citizens and US organisations and will help shape international privacy law and cross-border data transfer mechanisms. Guffin is professor of practice and co-director of the University of Maine School of Law's Information Privacy Law Program.


September 11, 2017

Former US Government Chief Information Officer Tony Scot will join Squire Patton Boggs as their Senior Data Privacy and Cyber-security Advisor. Scott has also served as Chief Information Officer at VMware, Microsoft Corporation,The Walt Disney Company, respectively, and as and Chief Technology Officer of Information Systems and Services at General Motors Corporation.

September 11, 2017

Cheryl Davis, former director for cyber-security policy at the US National Security Council and principal director of cyber-policy at the US Department of Homeland Security, has joined FTI Consulting's cross-segment cyber-security team as a managing director in its Technology segment.

September 7, 2017

Former FireEye CEO Dave DeWalt (left) and Retired General David Patraeus (right) have been named to Optiv Security board of directors. DeWalt, who also is the former CEO at McAfee, will serve as vice chairman. Petraeus, chairman of the KKR Global Institute, is the former director of the CIA.

Mike Potts will take over as Webroot CEO effective 25 September. Potts was also named to the company's board of directors. He will succeed Dick Williams who is retiring as CEO, but will remain on the board. Potts previously worked at Cisco where he helped integrate his former company, Lancope, after it was purchased by Cisco.

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Video and interviews