Facebook scam promises friend's video, delivers malware instead

News

A new spam campaign tries to fool Facebook users into downloading malware by luring them to a fake YouTube page supposedly featuring a friend's video.

A new spam campaign tries to fool Facebook users into downloading malware by luring them to a fake YouTube page supposedly featuring a friend's video.

According to a scam alert from research firm ESET, victims receive either a false notification that they were tagged in a friend's timeline post, or a message purportedly sent by a friend via Messenger.

Typically titled “My first video,” “My video,” or “Private video,” the fake message compels users to click on a link that sends them to the phony YouTube website. There, the user is instructed to install a plug-in to view the content — but it's actually malware that fills the victim's wall with fake videos and sends the same “My first video” messages to that person's friends, further propagating the threat.

To eliminate the threat, ESET advises victims to remove the plug-in, disguised as a “Make a GIF” app, from their browsers. Currently, the threat only impacts users of Google Chrome.

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Upcoming event 

Webcast: Understanding this year's biggest adversaries - and how to combat them 

Nation-state activity, versatile, slippery strategies and Big Game Hunting - the threats are real, dangerous and ever changing. 
Brought to you in partnership with Crowdstrike