Japan is to join the ATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE)  in Tallinn, Estonia which the organisation said in a statement will further strengthen the knowledge base and reach of the currently 20-nation-strong centre.

The Prime Minister of Japan announced Japan's decision to join the organisation.

“We welcome the decision of Japan to join CCDCOE as a Contributing Participant, membership status available to non-NATO nations. Japan is one of NATO's key partners beyond the Euro-Atlantic area and a globally recognised technology and cyber-security power. Joining the Centre will be a concrete step forward signalling the commitment in cyber defence cooperation between like-minded nations," said Merle Maigre, director of the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence.

NATO CCD COE launched the most comprehensive guide on how international law applies to cyber-operations, the Tallinn Manual 2.0. It also runs the International Conference on Cyber Conflict, CyCon, where key experts and decision-makers in the global cyber defence community meet every spring. The tenth anniversary event CyCon X: Maximising Effects will take place from 30 May to 1 June 2018.

Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States are signed on as Sponsoring Nations of NATO CCD COE, and both taff and finsance the centre. Austria, Finland and Sweden are Contributing Participants, a status eligible for non-NATO nations. In September 2017 Norway announced its plan to join the Centre.