SAFECode, the body set up to promote software assurance announced that it has established an international advisory board. SAFECode members include EMC Corporation, Juniper Networks, Inc., Microsoft Corp., Nokia, SAP AG and Symantec Corp.

SAFECode's said that its board will be comprised of information technology experts representing government agencies, private-sector organizations and academic institutions from around the world. 


Included on the board is William C. Barker, Chief Cyber Security Advisor, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Dr. Paul Dorey, Chairman of the Institute of Information Security Professionals, Claudia Eckert, Professor, Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology and Alan Paller, Director of Research, SANS Institute.

“SAFECode has brought together this group of renowned information security experts to help guide and inform our efforts to improve the security and integrity of software.” said Paul Kurtz, executive director of SAFECode. 


“We share a common belief that software assurance plays a vital role in strengthening the security of our information infrastructure and we are thrilled to have the opportunity to leverage the diverse expertise and insight of this board of advisors as we work to advance secure software development.”