Security Serious - Unsung heros honoured

News by SC Staff

As part of Security Serious week, more than 200 cyber-security professionals gathered for the Unsung Heroes Awards, recognising cyber-security heroes behind the scenes.

Security Serious Unsung Heroes Awards winners were announced last night in a fun celebration at St Bart’s Brewery in London of the people, not products.

Clive Room, chair of the White Hat Ball Committee, added his inimitable style to the occasion as compere, in his own words, ‘putting the camp into campaign’, with winners branded titles such Fraud Fighter and Captain Compliance.

Lead organiser of Security Serious Week, Yvonne Eskenzi and co-founder of Eskenzi PR commented, "An event like this really shows off what a great industry it is to be a part of and the wonderful people that make it. "Sponsors included Canon, CREST, CyberArk, Cybereason, Gigamon, Intelisecure, Janrain, Operatix, Publicis Groupe and Mimecast.

The full list of winners comprised:

Apprentice/Rising Star
Runner up: Katie Burnell, Dtex Systems
Winner: Millie Coombes, Plymouth University

Best Cyber Security Sales Leader
Runner up: Justin Shaw-Gray, Synack
Winner: Mark Coates, Dtex Systems

Best Educator
Runner up: Prof Carlos Cid, Royal Holloway University
Winner: Prof Natalie Coull, Abertay University

Best Ethical Hacker/Pentester
Winner: Gemma Moore, Cyberis

Best Security Awareness Campaign
Runner up: Institution of Civil Engineers – "Shaping a digital world"
Winner: Cyberscene – Theatre Royal Haymarket Masterclass Trust/Kidscape/Pureland Foundation

Captain Compliance
Winner: Simon Onyons, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

CISO Supremo
Winner: Andrew Sands, BBC
Winner: Denis Onuoha, Arqiva
Winner: Lee Barney, Net A Porter

Cyber Writer
Runner up: Tony Morbin, SC Magazine
Winner: Danny Palmer, ZDnet

Data Guardian
Runner up: Toyin Adelakun, Trusthaus
Winner: James Arden, TalkTalk

Fraud Fighter
Winner: Helen Williams, TITAN
Winner: Jennie Williams, TITAN

Godfather/Godmother of Security
Runner up: Charlie McMurdie, PwC
Winner: Ian Glover, CREST

SecDevOps Trailblazer
Winner: Meera Rao, Synopsys
Winner: Allan Yung, Immersive Labs

Security Avengers
Runner up: City of London Crime Prevention Association
Winner: The Paranoids (Oath)

Security Leader/Mentor
Runner up: Jitender Arora, Deloitte
Winner: Nicola Whiting, Titania

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Video and interviews