US National Cyber Security Hall of Fame announces first inductees

News by SC Staff

The first inductees to the US National Cyber Security Hall of Fame have been announced.

The first inductees to the US National Cyber Security Hall of Fame have been announced.

The 11 men and women will be inducted on Wednesday 17th October at a gala banquet at the Four Seasons Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. In its debut year, the first inductees were nominated by qualified organisations engaged in cyber security and were ranked and reviewed by the board using established criteria in five categories: technology; policy; public awareness; education; and business.

The 11 inductees are:

  • Professor Dorothy Denning at the Department of Defense Analysis, Naval Postgraduate School
  • Carl Landwehr, Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Security and Privacy Magazine
  • Peter Neumann, Ph.D., Principal Scientist at SRI International
  • Roger Schell, President of ÆSec
  • Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman and Ralph Merkle, inventors of the Public Key Cryptograph
  • Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adelman, inventors of the RSA Algorithm
  • F. Lynn McNulty, Federal Information Systems Security Pioneer, was named to the 2012 class posthumously.

Mike Jacobs, chairman of the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame and the first Information Assurance Director for the National Security Agency (NSA), said: “Working in areas of technology, public policy, business, education and public awareness, the honorees represent the innovators and visionaries who defined an industry and established the standards in information assurance. These pioneers paved the way for people everywhere to have the ability to securely utilise digital technologies for work, banking, recreation and communication.”


Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Video and interviews